WIX Filters Named Official Sponsor of Counterman Magazine’s Counter Professional of the Year Award

Thursday, 23 February 2006

AKRON, OHIO -- WIX Filters has joined forces with Counterman magazine to honor automotive aftermarket parts professionals through sponsorship of one of the industry’s most prestigious awards: The Counter Professional of the Year Award, presented by WIX Filters.

This national honor, created in 1986 by Counterman, is presented annually to an ASE-certified aftermarket parts professional who excels in the demanding parts distribution profession. The winner and a guest receive an all-expenses paid trip for two to Las Vegas to attend the Automotive Aftermarket Products Expo (AAPEX) show.

“We understand how important counter professionals are, not only to the technicians they serve, but to suppliers such as WIX as well,” said Bruce Johnston, brand manager for WIX Filters. “Counter pros are an essential part of the distribution channel, and we are excited about our affiliation with this noteworthy award.”

“Counterman has been awarding this honor for the past 20 years, and it’s only fitting that we have a sponsor of WIX’s caliber for this landmark year,” added Counterman Editor Brian Cruickshank.

Counterman will begin its national Counter Professional of the Year search in June.

Past Counter Professional of the Year Award Winners:

2005: Dennis Call, Sanel Auto Parts, Pittsfield, NH
2004: Randy Lipscomb, Pat Young Service Co., Akron, OH
2003: Mac McGinnis, Moog Louisville, Louisville, KY
2002: Jerry Ives, General Parts Inc., Syracuse, NY
2001: Chris Isted, CARQUEST, Bloomfield, IL
2000: Rob Simpson, Tom Hovland Ent., Mason City, IA
1999: John Shampack, Cee-Kay Automotive, Moosic, PA
1998: Janet Sherman, Super Parts Automotive Warehouse, Ft. Myers, FL
1997: Scott Maxon, Maxon Wholesale Auto Parts, Sebring, FL
1996: Glenn Hamm, Fairfield Auto Supply, Fairfield, IA
1995: Steve Boehle, O’Reilly Auto Parts, Lawrence, KS
1994: Perry Pugh, Eastsound NAPA, Eastsound, WA
1993: Hugh Moore, Plymouth Auto Parts, Plymouth, NC
1992: Karren Karrer, Advance Auto Parts (NAPA), Jeffersontown, KY
1991: Louis Salas, Bessamer Auto Parts, Pueblo, CO
1990: Alfred Zahn Jr., S.L. Miori Company, Wharton, TX
1989: James H. Willey, Waverly Auto Supply, Waverly, IA
1988: Larry Boevers, Boren Auto Parts, Elk City, OK
1987: Patrick Lawson. J.S. Auto Supply, Jamestown, NY
1986: Reggie Gonzales, Parts Pro Auto Supply, Santa Ana, CA